South Africa’s World Heritage Sites

Given the spectacular and diverse culture, history, nature and wildlife that South Africa harbours, it is not surprising that seven of the globe’s World Heritage Sites are found here.

What is a World Heritage Site?

There are two types of World Heritage Sites – cultural and natural – and it is not easy to get either status from the United Nations Environmental and Scientific Organisation (UNESCO).

Natural sites must be outstanding examples that show major stages of earth’s history, contain superlative natural phenomena or are areas of exceptional natural beauty and aesthetic importance.

Cultural sites must represent a masterpiece of human creative genius, exhibit an important interchange of human values or bear exceptional testimony to a civilisation which is living or has disappeared.

South Africa’s “Cultural” World Heritage Sites include:

  • The Cradle of Humankind in Gauteng.
  • Robben Island in the Western Cape.
  • Mapungubwe

South Africa’s “Natural” World Heritage Sites include:

  • uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park in KwaZulu Natal.
  • The Greater St Lucia Wetland Park in KwaZulu Natal.    Cape Floral Region
  • The Cradle of Humankind
  • The Vredefort Dome

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Southern Circle Tours & Safaris
WhatsApp Us for more info